You need to know this first.

I was talking to my dad a few years ago about the hell that was my childhood, and I said to him something like, “One thing I never learned in our house was how to say ‘I’m sorry, I was wrong.'” He looked at me balefully and said, in total seriousness, “I’d rather cut my tongue out than say that.”

Being unwilling or unable to simply say “I’m sorry, I was wrong,” when confronted with our screw-ups — and to mean it, and to changesupports the rule of the fathers. Full stop.

Photo by clarita via morguefile.com

~ by rebel13 on July 3, 2017.

Speak to me.

 
